T20 World Cup Winners List

Post Name :  T20 World Cup Winners List
Post Date :  04 February , 2024
Post Description :  The ICC T20 World Cup, a premier international cricket tournament, has been a thrilling spectacle since its inception in 2007. Let’s look into the T20 World Cup Winners List in this article provided below.

T20 World Cup Winners List

The ICC T20 World Cup is one of cricket’s most anticipated tournaments, showcasing thrilling matches and outstanding performances from teams around the world. Since its inception in 2007, the tournament has witnessed intense battles, stunning upsets, and memorable triumphs. Let’s look into the T20 World Cup Winners List below.

T20 World Cup Winners List
YearHost CountryWinner
2007South AfricaIndia
2010West IndiesEngland
2012Sri LankaWest Indies
2014BangladeshSri Lanka
2016IndiaWest Indies

T20 World Cup Winners List Details

Here’s the T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2022, along with additional details, presented in a table format:

T20 World Cup Winners List Details
YearWinnerRunner-UpPlayer of the Tournament
2007IndiaPakistanShahid Afridi
2009PakistanSri LankaTillakaratne Dilshan
2010EnglandAustraliaKevin Pietersen
2012West IndiesSri LankaShane Watson
2014Sri LankaIndiaVirat Kohli
2016West IndiesEnglandVirat Kohli
2021AustraliaNew ZealandMitchell Marsh
2022EnglandPakistanSam Curran

Venue of T20 World Cup 

Venue of T20 World Cup is as follows:

Venue of the World Cup
YearVenue of the World Cup
2007South Africa
2010West Indies
2012Sri Lanka

T20 World Cup Top Run Scorers

T20 World Cup Top Run Scorers is as follows:

T20 World Cup Top Run Scorer
YearTop Run Scorer
2007Matthew Hayden
2009Tillakaratne Dilshan
2010Mahela Jayawardene
2012Shane Watson
2014Virat Kohli
2016Tamim Iqbal
2021Babar Azam
2022Virat Kohli

T20 World Cup Highest Wicket Takers

T20 World Cup Highest Wicket Takers are as follows:

T20 World Cup Highest Wicket Taker
YearHighest Wicket Taker
2007Umar Gul
2009Umar Gul
2010Dirk Nannes
2012Ajantha Mendis
2014Ajantha Mendis
2016Mustafizur Rahman
2021Adam Zampa
2022Wanindu Hasaranga

T20 World Cup Winners Country Wise

Country Wise T20 World Cup Winners  is as follows:

CountryNo. of times WinnerYear
West Indies22012, 2016
England22010, 2022
Sri Lanka12014

T20 World Cup Winners List Country Wise Details

1. ICC T20 World Cup 2007 (South Africa):

  • Winner: India
  • Final: India defeated Pakistan by 5 runs.
  • Key Moments: Yuvraj Singh’s all-round brilliance, including his six sixes in an over, propelled India to victory in a thrilling final.

2. ICC T20 World Cup 2009 (England):

  • Winner: Pakistan
  • Final: Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka by 8 wickets.
  • Key Moments: Shahid Afridi’s stellar all-round performance and Younis Khan’s leadership guided Pakistan to their maiden T20 World Cup title.

3. ICC T20 World Cup 2010 (West Indies):

  • Winner: England
  • Final: England defeated Australia by 7 wickets.
  • Key Moments: Craig Kieswetter’s explosive batting and Kevin Pietersen’s match-winning innings led England to their first ICC T20 World Cup triumph.

4. ICC T20 World Cup 2012 (Sri Lanka):

  • Winner: West Indies
  • Final: West Indies defeated Sri Lanka by 36 runs.
  • Key Moments: Marlon Samuels’ superb batting performance and Sunil Narine’s bowling heroics secured the title for the West Indies.

5. ICC T20 World Cup 2014 (Bangladesh):

  • Winner: Sri Lanka
  • Final: India was defeated by Sri Lanka defeated by 6 wickets.
  • Key Moments: Kumar Sangakkara’s masterful century in the semi-final and Lasith Malinga’s fiery bowling in the final propelled Sri Lanka to their maiden T20 World Cup victory.

6. ICC T20 World Cup 2016 (India):

  • Winner: West Indies
  • Final: England was defeated by West Indiesby 4 wickets.
  • Key Moments: Carlos Brathwaite’s breathtaking assault in the final over, smashing four consecutive sixes, secured a dramatic victory for the West Indies.

7. ICC T20 World Cup 2020 (Australia):

  • Winner: Tournament postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

8. ICC T20 World Cup 2021 (United Arab Emirates and Oman):

  • Winner: Australia
  • Final: Australia defeated New Zealand by 8 wickets.
  • Key Moments: Australia’s dominant bowling performance restricted New Zealand to a modest total, and David Warner’s explosive batting ensured a comfortable victory in the final.

9. ICC T20 World Cup 2022  (Australia )

  • Winner: England
  • Final: Pakistan is defeated by England

T20 World Cup 2024

Host Countries: The 2024 T20 World Cup will be jointly hosted by the West Indies and the United States, marking the first major ICC cricket tournament to be held in the US. This move is significant for cricket’s development in the US, with its growing fanbase.

Expanded Format: With 20 teams, the tournament will feature the largest field in T20 World Cup history. This expansion promises a more competitive and thrilling tournament, comprising a range of cricketing nations.

Qualification Process: While eight teams have already secured spots, the remaining twelve will qualify through regional tournaments. The ongoing qualification process adds anticipation and ensures representation from cricketing regions worldwide.

Venues: Although venue details are forthcoming, matches are expected to span across the United States and the West Indies. This multi-country setup offers fans a unique opportunity to witness cricket in varied settings.

Anticipation: The 2024 T20 World Cup is highly anticipated, drawing global attention as cricket enthusiasts eagerly await the showdown among the world’s top cricketing nations for the prestigious trophy.

Register to Apply

Personal Details

Edit Content

Important Updates


Subscribe to Latest Notification

Register to Apply

Personal Details

Edit Content
Click on the Edit Content button to edit/add the content.

Add New Playlist